Barcelona’s bid for back-to-back LaLiga wins hit a bit of a stumbling block at Levante.
The reigning champions fell behind early in the first half before their misery was compounded by a second for the hosts from the penalty spot deep in added time.
Alejandro Baldé was adjudged to have handled the ball in the area, allowing José Luis Morales to double the advantage, but all was not as it may have seemed.
According to one eagle-eyed viewer, the Blaugrana defender’s contact with the ball should not have merited the awarding of a spot kick for the Granotes.
❗️CONFIRMED: Balde’s play shouldn’t have been a penalty. Balde, with his hand close to his body and in the process of bringing it back, deflects the ball inside the box.
Circular 3 (rule) refers to a handball when the “hand is clearly detached and away from the body.”
—… pic.twitter.com/gik3VBSrKl
— Barça Universal (@BarcaUniversal) August 23, 2025
Where do you stand on the call? Let us know in the comments.
📸 Alex Caparros – 2025 Getty Images